Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Committee C

Genes, development and STEM* approaches to biology

*Science Technology Engineering and Maths - Committee C will consider generic STEM approaches to biology; specific applications will be considered by the Committee providing the appropriate biological context.

For research topics covered by each Research Committee and to apply for funding visit our Responsive mode research grants and How to apply pages (see related links).

Core members

Dr Nicola Gray (Deputy Chair) - The University of Edinburgh
Professor Helen White-Cooper (Deputy Chair) - Cardiff University
Professor Nicola Gray (Chair) - The University of Edinburgh
Professor Richard Emes (Deputy Chair) - The University of Nottingham

Professor Thorsten Allers - The University of Nottingham
Dr Nazif Alic - University College London
Professor Ruth Baker - University of Oxford
Dr Alessia Buscaino - University of Kent
Professor Divya Maitreyi Chari - Keele University
Dr Meriem El Karoui - The University of Edinburgh
Dr Nicholas David Evans - University of Southampton
Professor Dianne Ford - Northumbria University
Professor Lorna Harries - University of Exeter
Professor John Haycock - The University of Sheffield
Dr Lilian Hook – Smart Matrix Ltd
Professor Stefan Hoppler - University of Aberdeen
Professor Corinne Houart - King's College London
Professor Andrzej Michal Kierzek - Simcyp/Certara and University of Surrey
Professor Majlinda Lako - Newcastle University
Dr Stuart MacNeill - University of St Andrews
Dr Maria O'Connell - University of East Anglia
Professor Madeline Parsons - King's College London
Dr Ezio Rosato - University of Leicester
Dr Jill Saffrey - Open University
Dr Victoria Smith - University of St Andrews
Dr Francis Szele - University of Oxford
Professor Krasimira Tsaneva-Atanasova - University of Exeter
Professor Christine Watson - University of Cambridge
Professor Tanya Whitfield - The University of Sheffield
Professor Jason Wolf - University of Bath
Dr Gabriela da Silva Xavier - Imperial College London

For a list of members who attended the last three meetings visit our Recent grant awards page (see related links).

Meeting dates


  • 12-13 February
  • 22-23 May
  • 25-26 September


  • 13-14 February
  • 23-24 May
  • 19-20 September


  • 7-8 February
  • 16-17 May
  • 19-20 September


  • 2-3 February
  • 11-12 May
  • 22-23 September